Hello All

Ask your questions about Cornwall here. Whether it be Where, When, Who, What and Why someone\'s sure to know the answer.
Paulk

Post by Paulk » Sun May 25, 2008 8:48 pm

Hello everyone,
I thought I would join up as I am interested in your opinions on English people moving to Cornwall. I visit Cornwall regularly, about every 3 months for around a week at a time, but I refuse to visit in the summer when it has the huge influx of tourists.

From the first time that I visited I fell in love with the whole place and the more laid back ways that you are so fortunate to have. I was also amazed how welcoming the Cornish were as I have never had people say hello to me and my wife whilst walking along the street etc.

Anyway, we are thinking of maybe moving down to Cornwall next year from Manston, near Margate in Kent but I am a little worried that we will not be accepted as we are outsiders. We are normal working class people,not chavs or rich toffs, I am a carpenter and my wife is an trainee accountant, soon to be a full time mum, so we aren't exactly well off but I love my job, and I can do it anywhere which is a bonus.

Any comments are welcome and thanks for reading it :-)

TheElvenLord

Post by TheElvenLord » Sun May 25, 2008 8:59 pm

have never had people say hello to me and my wife whilst walking along the street etc.

We Cornish are generally like that.
Just make sure you say hello back because
a) if you don;t we know you are foreign
b) I find it quite insulting

[quote][but I am a little worried that we will not be accepted as we are outsiders./quote]

I'm sure as long as you respect the Cornish people, the Cornish culture, the Cornish feelings and the Cornish language, you will be fine.

In the above, i mean, don't take the mick out of our accents. Dont take the mick out of our beliefs. Don't take the mick out of our Placenames/Language. All of these, emmets (thats what we call foreigners) generally do.